Train Haul 2, Job hunt & Arty Events: Countdown to Adulthood #5

Hello again, at long last! And Happy Spring Day for yesterday! I’m late again with this post- my apologies for the lack of professionalism. I have had a rather stressful last week at uni and the weekend was also a bit crazy, so I found it really difficult to write anything- I guess I just have too much on my mind I can’t work out what to share. So, that is my explanation, let’s just get on with the update, which I’m going to keep as brief as possible:

So, before I get into this week’s shenanigans, I wanted to plug this fantastic artist, Rob Richardson of “Fatbot Illustrations”- Instagram link is HERE. Rob done Dean and I a lovely portrait for our first home of us both as ZOMBIES! I’d never had a self portrait done before and I’d never have guessed this would be the first. Rob, along with many other local artists had a stand at Robot Con, a local convention at Sheffield’s Millennium Gallery. This was a fun day for art and comic lovers, with plenty to do and buy.

SO! This week, I had been getting a lot of anxiety about not knowing what I’m doing. Ideally, I wanted to leave the house with my second haul with confidence that I wouldn’t be returning until I had to collect the last of my things and hand in the keys; BUT I had two job interviews (for the same company) through the week and was still waiting to hear (and still am!) if I got the job. It was very adventurous, as it’s sales and marketing, so well out of my comfort zone- but if there is anything I have learned about myself recently as a inspiring to-be adult, it’s that I like to challenge myself and go beyond my limits, seize every opportunity available to me. As I am writing this blog, I have just arranged a meeting to get more info for another marketing job this week! Once again, in Manchester! (I can’t escape the place haha!) however, the job itself will be in Sheffield.

20160314_112934.jpg
Admiring this artwork in the capital area of marketing in Manchester.

Job applications is something that I have quietly been getting on with in the background as all of this packing and hauling is being carried out. I don’t like to say too much about jobs that I’m particularly excited about in case the opportunities don’t follow through as I’d like and then I have to announce failures. I know that failure isn’t a nice word and each stage of getting a job is experience, whether you are successful or not. I did learn a lot from my last group interview and it completely opened my eyes to direct marketing.

So I now have everything packed/ stored away in boxes, ready to be collected later this week, so I can vacate the room. I have enjoyed my room, away from the rough area of Salford- it was my first independent, peaceful space and my housemates and landlord were delightful! It was weird spending my last night there, knowing that after that, I wouldn’t be sleeping alone anymore, weird but comforting…

20160313_173330

So that was the final haul on my own done! The next time I take stuff by train, I will at least have my happy helper, Dean 🙂

On Saturday, I went to the Sheffield Hallam’s Fine Art 3 year fundraiser “Kunst Kunst Kunst”. Just like last year, we had a blast and I spontaneously decided to start ‘test vlogging’ that night, which was such a fun experience. My friends were keen to be on camera and provided a lot of encouragement for me to perhaps take this further! SO HeatherBlogz may soon also become HeatherVlogz! I was actually able to capture myself and Dean under hypnosis for the first time, thanks to my ‘test vlog’ as there were guest hypnotists giving volunteers a taster of this phenomenal experience.

Following on from that theme, Dean and I were invited to take part in a project involving more hypnosis- so yesterday we spent a couple of hours under a deep trance. I can’t explain how bizarre this feels and it’s not like you expect! I was fully conscious, however part of my I couldn’t control, like when I was “asleep” I could open my eyes but my body was paralyzed and my head was heavy! It was SO weird, but so worth the experience! I don’t experiment with drugs, but feeling what the body is capable of under the influence of it’s own chemicals, is fascinating to me.

Thank you for reading and I will be back as soon as possible with more exciting updates of my countdown. NOW ONLY 9 DAYS to go!!!

All the best,

Heather ^-^

 

Leave a Reply

