End of Year 2 & Looking Ahead: Summer Blogz #1

Welcome back! I know, yet again there has been a big gap between posts, however I AM WORKING ON THIS- trust me! My new studies will truly compliment this issue of getting into the flow…

Saying Goodbyes…

The other week, I completed uni for Summer, which I’m sure many of all you other students out there will have or soon will be doing. I thought this would be a great opportunity to start a new chapter- a new blog series about general life and reflections over the Summer break (I know it’s not really Summer yet). Lots of projects are in order for these next few months, now that I’m free from uni and I can’t wait to share them with you ๐Ÿ™‚

13241267_940119376109845_8703298612606508782_n
Myself, Dan & Bronwyn (Thanks for the photo!)

On Friday 13th (calm down suspicious people, it’s all good!) I shared celebratory drinks and goodbye hugs with my lovely course mates. A lot of us had our final reflective presentations on this day and afterwards as true student style, we went off to the SU to wind down and celebrate. I am so proud of these two amazing student counsellors I’m pictured with above! Also to Kim, Alisha and Jess, whom would meet up with us to help each other study on a regular basis. We kept each other motivated, sharing ideas for essays, telling each other we CAN even when we weren’t so sure ourselves. It all paid off and I hope this team spirit continues into 3rd year because they are such fun, loving people to be around and I’m so pleased I got to know each of you better this year. Have an amazing Summer guys, I will miss you sooooo much xxx ๐Ÿ™‚

Little SUDS Tribute…

After the SU, Alisha and I went to see the final SUDS performance of the year. If you have been following me you may remember my SUDS Experience post back in February. I was gutted I couldn’t be part of the backstage experience this time, however it was such a pleasure to see the final performance after I had been part of the early days of the show, unsure as to whether I would be part of it due to the uncertainty of my living situation. What can I say, the spicy SUDS team absolutely blew me away! Steph, a Sudsie whom also couldn’t be in the show watched alongside me and we woohooed right through the show- it was just so entertaining. We even got emotional, knowing that four members, Rebecca, Louisa, Bryony (Chair of SUDS) and Ali (Choreographer) would be dancing their last show before they graduate this Summer. I want to wish these girls all the best and I have so much respect for them all, knowing their responsibilities on top of their final year commitments! Congratulations girls, you are an inspiration! ๐Ÿ™‚

I guess part of the emotion, was knowing that I, myself won’t be part of SUDS next year due to my bigger commute to uni and that I now have outside commitments going on. I have met some of the loveliest people in this society; inspirational, caring, creative, talented and more than anything, spicy (a popular description within this group recently). I have not only learned how to dance but to enjoy myself through meeting new people from all over the world and keeping in shape! So thank you SUDS, you will always have a piece of my heart and I will never feel ashamed for spontaneously bursting into dance in front of people again, now I’ve done it on stage with you guys! ๐Ÿ™‚ Dancer Hevski, signing out: SUDS LOVE xxx

Looking Ahead…

So that’s all the “endings” out of the way, time to focus on my specialty- the future!

My Personal Development tutor at uni gave me some feedback from a reflective piece of work last semester, confirming that in fact, I am a future-orientated person now. I figured that at 25, to me, everything is about planning the next chapter of my life and moving towards it which brings me onto my next topic- Coaching!

Since October last year when I discovered the industry of Life Coaching, I have been SO excited about signing up for the Diploma to keep me busy over Summer. A couple of weeks ago, I finally did it! I am ecstatic about starting this course and I’m already well into my second module in my big box of home study supplies from The Coaching Academy. When I discovered Coaching, I was so happy to have discovered something that makes so much sense to me and fills all the gaps I was concerned with in Counselling- however I was confused about coming so far with Counselling to consider yet another career change. How could I be sure this was the one?

Well, the whole of Semester 2 suggested that my struggle to focus and keep interest in my counselling projects and feeling out of my depth with the practical elements, coincided with my desire to return to that safe branch of Coaching. I was, in a way thankful that counselling is a subject which honors personal development and allowed me space to explore this change and see why I am heading this way.

IMG_20160512_174503
SO excited to receive this box of my future career!

 

I sometimes worry at the back of my mind that I’m not going to find motivation to do this work in my own time, however Coaching is a subject that develops and promotes your own self-drive and motivation. Each time I read or listen to a webinar, I feel content that this is what I want to achieve! It reminds me of my primary focus to earn a high income and do something that I enjoy as a job that fulfills not only myself, but that I get to watch others grow and achieve their dreams as I am moving along. I mentioned before how proud I was of my course mates and their growth on the course and that when I was helping to motivate, I realized this was fulfilling something for me and I was able to share their joy in the end, making it that extra bit exciting!

SO, my coaching journey is underway and there is no slowing me down! ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Summer Goals…

Sticking with the theme of Coaching and all that goal setting jazz, I will be focusing on other things outside of studies:

Make this blog bigger and better! I want to get back into regular blog posting (once-twice a week) to get more established and network with other bloggers and even start getting involved with brands! So if you are already an experienced blogger, please feel free to send me some tips I can make a note of ๐Ÿ™‚

Get regular vlogs on YouTube! I have ONE vlog up there at the moment and that simply isn’t good enough. I have footage for more so as from today, I will be on that editing suite and creating a vlogging schedule as well as the regular blogs! So look out for the links on social media-follow me via the links below ๐Ÿ™‚

Revamp & Restart my main channel! Last September, I had a go at setting up a YouTube channel and making a couple of videos. Once my blogs and vlogs are underway, I want to start thinking about adding more to my main channel and possibly renaming to it works alongside this blog. I hadn’t the confidence I’ve gained through blog writing back then, but now I’m fueled with motivation and with a Coaching course to help me out, I’m pretty sure I will make a real go of it this time ๐Ÿ™‚

That’s it for now! Thank you for reading this post and I’m so happy I can share these goals publicly as this will give me that extra drive I need to make it happen- there are more people to give me a kick up the ass if I don’t get it done ๐Ÿ˜› … It WILL get done!

All the best,

Heather ^_^ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย  IMG_20160511_101242

 

3 thoughts on “End of Year 2 & Looking Ahead: Summer Blogz #1

Leave a Reply

