Flying Visit to Cumbria: Summer Blogz #2

Hi there! Hope you have all been enjoying the Summery weather lately! Since it was cold in Sheffield last week, I certainly am!

So last weekend I traveled up to Cumbria to join some old school friends in celebrating my childhood best friend’s engagement party. It was a surprise for my grandparents, whom I didn’t tell that I would be visiting that weekend- my parents and I met them at the pub for a family meal where they were shocked to see me sitting there at the table πŸ™‚

I left Sheffield early Saturday morning to catch the train up North (further North). When I got to Manchester I was pleasantly surprised that the weather was a lot warmer than it had been in South Yorkshire last week- then when I got to Penrith, I was even more surprised to find that I’d entered a Cumbrian heatwave! I felt daft after preparing for the journey in a woolly beanie that morning and wrapping up in a warm shirt and leather jacket which never got worn again that weekend.

The fells of the Lake District were there to welcome me with open arms- one of the best things I look forward to when returning to my home county and something that actually makes me feel proud to have grown up here. Actually being in a car (that’s not a taxi) is a bit of a rare thing for me these days too and quite strange back home where I was so used to just driving myself round. Getting a lift from Penrith, rather than going straight to Whitehaven by train has benefits of fabulous views of the lakes- more of which you will see on my vlog when it is uploaded πŸ™‚

When I got back to my family home, I discovered more changes had taken place in my old room. It was the first time I had been home since I moved to Sheffield, meaning my bed from home was actually there and not here in this room, where I was used to expecting it on my home visits. My parents had now been given the spare bed from my grandparents, which is a single but makes up into a MASSIVE double! It was quite luxurious and I slept like a baby πŸ™‚ My room was a sun trap though, so the heat was quite intense.

20160605_120255

I didn’t have too much time before I was to meet my best friend, Jess and head up to the engagement party. I had never seen so many of our old school friends in one place since my 21st and it was so lovely to catch up and see how far everyone had come. Viki and Megan looked stunning and the atmosphere was incredible- definitely worth the flying visit up North to see all these lovely people! When my Mam picked us up after the party, Viki came out to meet her with another old school bessie, Natalie and we had a lovely little catch up πŸ™‚

The next day it was hot hot HOT once again and my parents decided to take me for a walk up the local fields, which was, for many years, my cross-country running route while I was growing up. It was a clear day and I was taking in the sea views like a complete tourist, whom no longer lives anywhere near a coast, so the sea isn’t a regular site anymore for me. The skies were so clear and the sea was actually very blue, compared to the greyish colour it usually is on the Solway Coast.

20160605_120359

20160605_11585920160605_115848

We called into my grandparents on the way home before lunch and then I went to see my grandma whom lives across the road before heading back to Penrith to catch the evening train to Warrington, where my connection was this time. I was praying that the weather in Sheffield would have warmed up since I was away as I was in shorts and nothing else would have been comfortable in that heat. We were early for the train so we called into Penrith so I could get a quick take away from a local Japanese/ Chinese place. I think California Temaki will absolutely be a June fave this month! I have recently become quite obsessed with Sushi recently.

20160605_183048
Aboard the posh Virgin Pendelino

It felt so weird going home so soon, but it was comforting to know that I would be seeing my family again in a couple of weeks when they come to visit my new home πŸ™‚ It was going to be a long trip and I was stressing about my change at Warrington as I’d have to walk to another station and I’ve never been to Warrington in my life! In my panic, I marched to the other station and got completely saturated in the process as the temperature was still in the high 20s even at 7.30pm! It was a relief to see the familiar East Midlands express train pull into the station, ready to take me East once again.

When I got home, I was greeted with a tidy apartment, a happy Dean and little Nugget chirping in his cage. What more could a girl ask for? That weekend I guess I had experienced the best of my past and present life. I do miss my family back home and not being able to drive myself around, but I know some day I will be able to do that here and be able to travel and see my family more regular. I have just begun my life here in Sheffield, and I’ve realised last week that I mustn’t rush this beautiful change, as some day I will miss this part of my life too.

I guess I want to thank Dean in this post for bringing this up to me and holding my reins when I try to gallop to the next chapter too fast. Here’s to Summer 2016 and may every day count, experienced to the maximum! Enjoy the rest of this tropical sun, people and I hope you experience every moment of your Summer in the most positive way πŸ™‚ I know some people don’t enjoy the heat, however, I look at the seasons as they are meant to be. I love to see the sun shine warmly in Summer, the leaves fall in a mild Autumn breeze, the frost bite my nose in Winter and the cool April showers in Spring. Each season is beautiful is it’s own way and I will be sure to make my next Poem of the Month “A Natural Story” which reflects this exact message!

20160605_121827

Until the next post, embrace these early Summer days!

All the best,

Heather ^_^

 

Leave a Reply

